The Masjid Chroniclers: Masjid Nurul Hilal (Jakarta, Indonesia)

When in doubt, I always find my wheels set to Jalan Cibulan, just nearby Jalan Wolter Monginsidi. By the way, it’s one of my favorite neighborhoods in Jakarta since not only that it’s leafy and you can easily find solace around there, but it’s also because it’s home to many interesting food scenes.

Masjid Nurul Hilal - Minaret Masjid Nurul Hilal - Exterior

From Chinese food, lobster specialty, steaks, and coffee shops, you can easily find good eats around there. Ah anyway, you have to pardon me because I really like to talk about food on my other blog and you can read my stuffs there.

So back to this particular masjid. It becomes one of my good alternatives while I’m around the neighborhood, which is quite often. Although recently I found a more classic masjid just on a neighborhood beside this masjid, but still Masjid Nurul Hilal is quite easy to found, thanks to Iga Bakar Cibulan during my visit many months ago.

Masjid Nurul Hilal - Interior Masjid Nurul Hilal - Mimbar

The masjid may not be quite small but I often get myself amazed whenever I came across a masjid which was originated from a waqf land. Can you imagine the value of jihad for somebody who wholeheartedly gave his land possession for a very good purpose like this? I really wish that one day I could become such person as well. Aamiin~

Masjid Nurul Hilal - Ceiling

So again, if you’re around here after a good solid lunch, Masjid Nurul Hilal would be a perfect choice for zuhur prayer. Next, I’ll telling you another hidden masjid just nearby and I do really like it a lot! (RF)

—–

Masjid Nurul Hilal
Jalan Cibulan IV no. 5, Petogogan – Jakarta, Indonesia

—–

2 thoughts on “The Masjid Chroniclers: Masjid Nurul Hilal (Jakarta, Indonesia)

  1. Assalamualaikum Wr Wb
    Thank you Rian Farisa, Masjid Nurul Hilal is a memorable Masjid for me. I always recall my late Father when I was young at my 17 to 31 years of age when looking at it; it was in the early 70’s to mid of 1991. Nurul Hilal was not yet as beautiful as today (that I believe by looking at your nice taken photographs). We always went to Nurul Hilal for Friday prayer, just the two us me and my Father. I trust you like to design Masjids? Stay faithfully to Allah SWT and Rosullulloh SAW.

    Herman

    • Alaykumussalam warahmatullahi wabarakatuh brother Herman,

      Thank you for sharing your story. I believe each of us has a deep relationship with the masjid we grew up with such as like yours when going for Friday prayer with your late father, and many other stories. I have huge confidence with our youth generation nowadays with their love towards masjid. It’s a place that’s no longer serves only for the congregation of compulsory prayers but also as the place to gather knowledge, for healthy discussions, for charity, and many other things. I sincerely hope that Masjid Nurul Hilal is among those masjids blessed with those enrichment. 🙂

      Thank you for your advice as well. In shaa Allah we will strive our best and I pray that you will too.

Leave a Reply

